Judith MacKay Animal Artist https://judithmackay.com Judith MacKay's Web Studio Wed, 08 Jan 2020 19:21:15 +0000 en-GB hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.3.2 https://judithmackay.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/cropped-Flavicon-32x32.png Judith MacKay Animal Artist https://judithmackay.com 32 32 A Cat With Spotted Silk Clothing https://judithmackay.com/a-cat-with-spotted-silk-clothing/ Wed, 08 Jan 2020 19:21:14 +0000 https://judithmackay.com/?p=2045 I can’t help but reiterate our ABUN founder’s words “It’s always a wonderful feeling to see our ABUN Artwork used by our biologists/organizational partners…even more than a year since the project has closed.It’s Our partner, Mtsog Irbis, Munkhtsog Bariushaa (Dr. Bariushaa Munkhtsog), President of the Irbis Mongolian Center, has written a book about Snow Leopards...

Source

]]>
Sketch for Survival Silent Auction https://judithmackay.com/sketch-for-survival-silent-auction-2/ Mon, 11 Nov 2019 21:14:29 +0000 https://judithmackay.com/?p=1898 Yesterday I visited the last but one venue to see the Sketch for Survival Exhibition at The Luxury Travel Fair in London’s Olympia Exhibition halls. It was wonderful to see all the donated artworks and photographs on display. A huge thank you to Robert and Sara for all their hardwork in setting up all the wonderful exhibitions around the UK to bring pubic awareness to the plight of our...

Source

]]>
Invited Artist to Explorers Against Extinction 2019 Online Auction https://judithmackay.com/invited-artist-to-explorers-against-extinction-2019/ Sun, 06 Oct 2019 17:13:15 +0000 https://judithmackay.com/?p=1887 For this year’s Explorers Against Extinction exhibition i was thrilled to be one of their Invited Artists. I have donated my original pastel painting of Ingwe, a beautiful young female leopard from an original photograph taken by my daughter, Fiona. (Fiona MacKay Photography) in The Kruger National Park South Africa. All the artworks and photography are now live online, Ingwe is Lot 68 so...

Source

]]>
In Honour of World Lion Day https://judithmackay.com/in-honour-of-world-lion-day/ Sat, 10 Aug 2019 11:35:44 +0000 https://judithmackay.com/?p=1879 I thought I would post some of my paintings to celebrate this special day. They are such wonderful animals and I have had the privilege to sit with them on many occasions when on Safari in South Africa, Zambia and Botswana. The interaction within the family group is amazing to witness. I used my own reference photos of the Punk Pride Lions and was granted permission to use for reference...

Source

]]>
International Day for the Clouded Leopard https://judithmackay.com/international-day-for-the-clouded-leopard/ Mon, 05 Aug 2019 14:23:38 +0000 https://judithmackay.com/?p=1857 I know I am a day late but didn’t realise that Sunday 4th August was International Clouded Leopard Day. In celebration I am posting one of my paintings of the Clouded Leopard. Their coat patterns resemble clouds hence the name but they are just so beautiful and a joy to paint. Although I have only ever seen these beautiful cats in captivity at The Big Cat Sanctuary in Kent they are...

Source

]]>
Today is World Tiger Day https://judithmackay.com/today-is-world-tiger-day/ Mon, 29 Jul 2019 11:11:18 +0000 https://judithmackay.com/?p=1833 As today is World Tiger Day I wanted to share my pastel painting of the Sumatran Tiger with you. Sadly the only time I have ever seen this particular species was at The Big Cat Sanctuary in Kent here in the UK, but he was a magnificent animal, very majestic and imposing at the same time.This painting is entitled “Watching” was painted in Unison Soft Pastels and pastel pencils and was...

Source

]]>
Explorers Against Extinction https://judithmackay.com/explorers-against-extinction/ Tue, 23 Jul 2019 11:47:58 +0000 https://judithmackay.com/?p=1826 I am absolutely thrilled to be invited to exhibit with Explorers Against Extinction again this year. Instead of submitting a 26 minute sketch I have donated my gorgeous painting of Ingwe, the young female leopard, that my daughter photographed near Shimuwini Bush Camp in The Kruger National Park South Africa.Ingwe was a Finalist in International Artist Magazine Wildlife Competition 2017 and...

Source

]]>
Tulsi companion to Dr Chet Trivedy https://judithmackay.com/tulsi-companion-to-dr-chet-trivedy/ Mon, 10 Jun 2019 15:14:10 +0000 https://judithmackay.com/?p=1815 I can now reveal my latest pastel painting. It is Tulsi a gorgous cat who is looked after, and I choose my words carefully as every cat lover will know that cats are the Boss, by my very good friend Dr Chet Trivedy. Happy Birthday Chet. Tulsi plays a very important role in that he was the inspiration for the creation of The Tulsi Foundation. An organisation created by Dr Chet Trivedy to provide...

Source

]]>
World Wildlife Day https://judithmackay.com/world-wildlife-day/ Sun, 03 Mar 2019 10:44:50 +0000 https://judithmackay.com/?p=1795 Its World Wildlife Day and today only I will donate 25% of each sale prints of Sanju, The Stalker or the Sumatran Tiger to both the Tulsi Foundation and David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation to support the work they do to protect not only our diminishing wildlife but the rangers who protect them.. If you would like to own one of my A3 Giclee Tiger Prints or give one as a gift, please message me they...

Source

]]>
My Entry for DSWF Wildlife Artist of the Year 2019 https://judithmackay.com/my-entry-for-dswf-wildlife-artist-of-the-year-2019/ Sun, 17 Feb 2019 10:45:37 +0000 https://judithmackay.com/?p=1786 As Honorary Ambassador to the Tulsi Foundation, whose mission is to “protect the protectors” I have focused on Bengal Tigers. I have submitted 2 paintings both in the Category “Vanishing Fast”. A Royal Bengal Tiger photographed in Ranthambore National Park, Sawai Madhopur in Rajasthan India. I am most grateful to my very good friend Dr Chetan Trivedy...

Source

]]>